If you use marijuana in Texas and get caught, expect to pay a price for violating marijuana possession laws.
Numerous laws are on the books in Texas concerning marijuana use. If convicted, the exact punishment a person will face depends on several factors. It never hurts to get informed, so here are a few ways the legal system will determine your punishment if you are caught with possession of marijuana.
The amount of marijuana that is found with you plays a crucial role. Less than two ounces can result in a $2,000 fine and incarceration for 180 days. It goes up to a $4,000 fine and incarceration up to one year if you are caught with two to four ounces. Anything above four ounces turns into a felony with greater punishment.
Drug paraphernalia in Texas is defined as any item used to manufacture, grow, process, prepare, etc. a controlled substance. It also includes anything that can assist an individual to introduce a drug into the body. Getting caught with drug paraphernalia is considered a misdemeanor, and you could face a fine of $500.
Many workplaces across the state require their employees to take mandatory drug tests when requested by management. If marijuana is discovered in your system, then it is possible you could lose your job and be charged with a misdemeanor. You could face up to 180 days in jail along with a fine of up to $2,000.
If you feel you have been unfairly charged with marijuana-related offenses in Texas, you will need the services of a legal professional who knows Texas marijuana laws such as a San Antonio possession of marijuana lawyer. An attorney can represent your case in court to fight the charges and get them dropped.